Call for Papers or Posters

(Download this CFP in text format or in pdf format.)

Important dates

- Paper submission deadline: January 31  February 6, 2011,
- Notification to authors: March 4, 2011
- Final versions due: March 21, 2011
- Poster submission deadline: April 18, 2011
- UC 2011: June 6-10, 2011


Original papers and posters are solicited in all all areas of unconventional computation. Papers/posters dealing with theory as well as with experiments and applications are welcome. Typical, but not exclusive, topics are: natural computing including quantum, cellular, molecular, neural and membrane computing, as well as evolutionary paradigms; chaos and dynamical systems based computing; proposals for computations going beyond the Turing model.


Authors are invited to submit papers (at most 12 pages) or posters electronically, via EasyChair:

All submissions are expected to be in the pdf format. Paper submissions should be prepared following the LNCS format of Springer. Poster submissions should contain either a graphical poster or an abstract with sufficient details for the reviewers. Simultaneous submissions to other conferences with published proceedings are not permitted. Each accepted paper/poster must be presented at the conference. The author of the poster is responsible for printing it. The proceedings (only for papers) will be published in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science by Springer, and will be available at the conference.

Conference location

UC 2011 is organized by the FUNDIM laboratory of the mathematics department at the University of Turku, Finland, under the auspices of EATCS. The conference and the satellite workshops will take place in the Calonia and Arcanum buildings of the University of Turku.

Conference History

The first venue of the Unconventional Computation Conference (formerly called Unconventional Models of Computation) was Auckland, New Zealand, in 1998; subsequent sites of the conference were Brussels, Belgium, in 2000; Kobe, Japan, in 2002; Seville, Spain, in 2005; York, UK, in 2006; Kingston, Canada, in 2007; Vienna, Austria, in 2008; Ponta Delgada, Portugal, in 2009; and Tokyo, Japan, in 2010.

Invited speakers

Samson Abramsky (University of Oxford, UK)
Bastien Chopard (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
David Corne (Heriot-Watt University, UK)
Juhani Karhumäki (University of Turku, Finland)
Gheorghe Păun (Institute of Mathematics of the Romanian Academy, Romania)
Grzegorz Rozenberg (Leiden University, The Netherlands)


Quantum Information
Mika Hirvensalo (University of Turku, Finland)
Cellular Automata
Nicolas Ollinger (Aix-Marseille University, France)
Membrane Computing
Mario de J. Pérez Jiménez (University of Sevilla, Spain)

Satellite workshops

Physics and Computation
org. Mike Stannet
org. Mike Stannet
Language Theory in Biocomputing
org. Tero Harju
Summer Solstice 2011: Discrete Models of Complex Systems
org. Danuta Makowiec, Anna Lawniczak, Bruno Di Stefano

Program committee

Selim Akl (Queen's University, Kingston, Canada)
Olivier Bournez (Ecole Polytechnique, Paris, France)
Thomas Bäck (University of Leiden, The Netherlands)
Adan Cabello (University of Sevilla, Spain)
Barry Cooper (University of Leeds, UK)
Josée Félix Costa (IST Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Nachum Dershowitz (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
Eric Goles (Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez, Santiago, Chile)
Shan He (University of Birmingham, UK)
Mika Hirvensalo (University of Turku, Finland)
Natasha Jonoska (University of South Florida, Tampa FL, USA)
Jarkko Kari,co-chair (University of Turku, Finland)
Giancarlo Mauri (University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy)
Kenichi Morita (Hiroshima University, Japan)
Ion Petre,co-chair (Åbo Akademi University, Turku, Finland)
Kai Salomaa (Queen's University, Kingston, Canada})
Hava Siegelmann (University of Massachusetts, Amherst MA, USA)
Susan Stepney (University of York, UK)
Fumiaki Tanaka (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Jon Timmis (University of York, UK)

Organizing Committee

Pierre Guillon
Tero Harju
Mika Hirvensalo
Timo Jolivet
Juhani Karhumäki
Jarkko Kari (chair)
Arto Lepistö
Ion Petre
Petri Salmela
Charalampos Zinoviadis

Proceedings Committee

Cris Calude
Jarkko Kari
Arto Lepistö
Ion Petre
Grzegorz Rozenberg

UC Steering Committee

Thomas Bäck (Leiden University, The Netherlands)
Cristian S. Calude, co-chair (University of Auckland, New Zealand)
Lov K. Grover (Bell Labs, Murray Hill, New Jersey, USA)
Jarkko Kari (University of Turku, Finland)
Lila Kari (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Jan van Leeuwen (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)
Seth Lloyd (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
Giancarlo Mauri (University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy)
Gheorghe Păun (Institute of Mathematics of the Romanian Academy, Romania)
Tommaso Toffoli (Boston University, USA)
Carme Torras (Institute of Robotics and Industrial Informatics, Barcelona, Spain)
Grzegorz Rozenberg, co-chair (Leiden University, The Netherlands)
Arto Salomaa (University of Turku, Finland)